I grew up watching the films about daddy’s little princess and though rolling around in the mud and playing sport made me no princess I never stopped wishing I’d see that pride in your eyes.

As the years went by the dreams faded into memories and failed wishes. You were physically present yet absent when it counted the most. Our silence bore more emotion than our standard practice of the two-way, ten word conversation, yet neither one of us uttered more.

So hesitant to hold me when I cried, taught me not to cry as it conveyed a weakness in me which would count against attaining your approval.

Today I look back and see the lesson you taught me, voluntarily or involuntarily, how to live without you.

Happy Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

